Comparison · AI agents · Pricing

Botpress alternatives in 2026: Voiceflow, Chatbase and 4 others compared

Botpress has billed per conversation since 14 May 2026. Here are its plans as read on its pricing page, what it does well, where it falls short, and the monthly cost of six options at 1,000 and 5,000 conversations, calculated on public prices read on 29 October 2026 with the method shown.

Zakaria El Asri14 min

The number in this comparison

At 1,000 conversations a month, Botpress costs €637. Copilot Studio, n8n, Chatbase and Crisp cost between €67 and €160 for the same volume.

In brief

The short answer

Botpress has billed per conversation since 14 May 2026: Plus at $189 a month for 250 conversations, Team at $939 for 1,500. At 1,000 conversations a month the bill reaches €637 by our calculation. For the same volume, we get €67 for n8n Cloud, €72 for Copilot Studio, €135 for Chatbase and €160 for Crisp.

The ranking, from closest to what Botpress does to most specialised:

  1. Voiceflow to design voice and chat agents with fine control.
  2. Chatbase for an agent live in a day from your website.
  3. Copilot Studio if you already run Microsoft 365 and Azure.
  4. n8n for an agent built into your workflows, at the lowest cost.
  5. Fin for high-volume support, billed per outcome.
  6. Crisp for customer messaging from a French vendor, with an AI agent, at a flat price.

Outside the ranking, if you want the agent built and maintained for you: our custom AI agent offer.

This guide only compares Botpress replacements. For ChatGPT Enterprise, Claude, Mistral, Zendesk or Tidio, see our comparison of AI chatbots for business. Disclosure: Lumyniq publishes this site and sells the custom agent offer shown outside the ranking.

The new pricing

What changed at Botpress on 14 May 2026

Botpress now counts conversations: any exchange with at least two end-user messages in the month, handled by the bot, a human or both. AI usage is included, up to $0.10 per conversation. Workspaces created before 14 May 2026 keep their old pricing for now, according to Botpress’s announcement.
PlanMonthlyAnnual (per month)Included conversationsBeyond quotaAI includedSeats
Free$0$0100 (period not stated)No overage possibleNot stated3
Plus$189$150250 a month$65 per 100 ($0.65)$253
Team$939$7501,500 a month$50 per 100 ($0.50)$150Unlimited
Built For YouOn contactOn contactCustomCustomNot statedNot stated
EnterpriseOn quoteOn quoteCustomCustomNot statedUnlimited
botpress.com/pricing, monthly and annual toggle read on 29 October 2026. Built For You is listed at $1,650 a month in the 14 May 2026 post, with no price on the pricing page.
Botpress pricing page on annual billing: Free at $0 for 100 conversations, Plus at $150 a month for 250 conversations and packs of 100 at $65, Team at $750 for 1,500 conversations and packs of 100 at $50, Enterprise on quote
Screenshot of botpress.com/pricing (annual view), taken on 29 October 2026.

Three things changed, according to the 14 May 2026 post. Botpress used to bill each incoming message; it now bills the whole conversation. It used to bill AI usage separately, at the provider’s price with no markup; AI is now included in each conversation you buy. And bots, which were a $10-a-month add-on each, are unlimited on paid plans.

The overage mechanics are worth reading in full. The pricing FAQ explains that at 95% of quota a pack of 100 conversations is added automatically, that you are notified at 75% and 100%, and that packs persist from month to month until you remove them. If AI usage reaches 95% of its allowance, Botpress also buys $10 of AI credit, sold at cost. The Free plan stops at 100 conversations.

Botpress argues against the outcome billing used by Fin and Zendesk: in its words, outcome pricing raises the bill as the bot gets better. In return, under per-conversation billing you also pay for the exchanges the bot failed to handle.

Our reading

What Botpress does well, and where it falls short

Botpress remains a complete builder: a visual studio, knowledge bases, tables, integrations, unlimited agents on paid plans and AI cost included. It falls short on entry price, the jump between Plus and Team, test conversations being billed, and conversations stored in the United States by default, according to its privacy statement of 17 August 2026.

What it does well. The bill is predictable: you know the price of a conversation before the month starts, with no token maths. Agents are unlimited from Plus, so you can run one agent per job (support, booking, qualification). Storage was raised in May 2026: 100,000 table rows, 1 GB of vectors and 10 GB of files on Plus, 500,000 rows, 5 GB and 50 GB on Team. White-label webchat and WhatsApp are among the listed channels.

Where it falls short.

  • Entry price. The first paid tier costs $189 a month for 250 conversations, or $0.76 per conversation before the first pack. Chatbase Hobby costs $40.
  • Test conversations count. The pricing FAQ says emulator conversations are counted like any other. A team that tests a lot burns quota before go-live.
  • Human conversations count too. An exchange taken over by an agent in Botpress Desk is billed like one handled by the bot.
  • The 95% trigger. Because a pack is added before the quota is reached, the bill can include one pack more than strictly needed. In our simulation, 9 packs instead of 8 at 1,000 conversations on Plus.
  • Hosting. According to its privacy statement updated on 17 August 2026, AWS hosts Botpress’s cloud services and all customer data, and conversations are stored on servers in the United States or other locations set by the customer. Transfers from the EU rely on the Data Privacy Framework. We found no published European region. Ask for the data processing agreement in writing.
  • Self-hosting. Botpress Cloud does not run on your servers. The self-hostable version, Botpress v12 under AGPL-3.0, lives in a separate repository; the main repository now holds only the integrations and developer tools.

Botpress also sells Built For You, a service where its team builds and maintains the agent, listed at $1,650 a month in its May post. It answers the same need as our custom AI agent offer, with a different model: a monthly subscription tied to the Botpress platform, against setup billed once, a maintenance plan, then the model paid at API cost.

The crossover

At what volume to move from Plus to Team

According to botpress.com/pricing on 29 October 2026, on monthly billing, Plus stays cheaper than Team up to 1,350 conversations a month: $189 plus 11 packs at $65 comes to $904, against $939 for Team. Beyond that, a twelfth pack takes Plus to $969. On annual billing the crossover falls to 1,150 conversations.
Step chart of Botpress monthly cost by number of conversations: Plus starts at $189 and rises $65 per pack of 100, Team stays at $939 up to 1,500 conversations then rises $50 per pack; the lines cross at 1,350 conversations
Lumyniq chart calculated from botpress.com/pricing, monthly billing, 29 October 2026.

This counts only the packs strictly needed. With the 95% trigger, the twelfth pack arrives at 1,283 conversations, so the crossover falls to about 1,280. Above 1,500 conversations, the gap widens in Team’s favour by $15 per pack. If your volume regularly exceeds 1,350 conversations (about 1,280 with the 95% trigger), Team costs less and its seats are unlimited.

Our measurement

What Botpress and its alternatives cost at 1,000 and 5,000 conversations

By our calculation on 29 October 2026 prices, with four AI replies per conversation, Botpress costs €637 a month at 1,000 conversations and €2,415 at 5,000. Copilot Studio costs €72 and €314, n8n Cloud €67 and €179, Chatbase €135 and €629, Crisp €160 and €519.
Bar chart of monthly cost at 1,000 then 5,000 conversations: Botpress €637 then €2,415, Fin at 50% resolution €445 then €2,223, Chatbase €135 then €629, Crisp Essentials €160 then €519, Copilot Studio €72 then €314, n8n Cloud with Mistral €67 then €179, Voiceflow €25 then €127 of usage only, drawn as hollow bars, plus an unpublished plan fee
Lumyniq chart. Public prices read on 29 October 2026, dollars converted at the ECB rate of 28 October 2026 (€1 = $1.1133).
ToolPlan used1,000 conversations5,000 conversationsBilling unit
BotpressPlus + 8 packs; Team + 35 packs$709 = €637$2,689 = €2,415Conversation
Fin$0.99 per outcome, 50% resolved (Lumyniq assumption)$495 = €445$2,475 = €2,223Outcome
Fin, all resolved$0.99 per outcome, 100%$990 = €889$4,950 = €4,446Outcome
CrispEssentials €95 + Hugo at $0.10€160€519Hugo conversation
ChatbaseBasic; Business + 5,000 credits$150 = €135$700 = €629AI reply
Copilot StudioPay-as-you-go; 1 pack + pay-as-you-go$80 = €72$350 = €314Copilot credit
n8n CloudPro 10,000; Pro 50,000; + Mistral Large€67€179Execution
VoiceflowUsage only, plan fee unpublished$28 = €25 + plan$141 = €127 + planMessage + tokens
Lumyniq (outside the ranking)Custom projectSetup, maintenance and model costSetup, maintenance and model costProject
Lumyniq calculation from official pricing pages on 29 October 2026, monthly billing with no commitment. ECB rate of 28 October 2026: €1 = $1.1133. Assumption: 4 messages and 4 AI replies per conversation, about 3,000 tokens read and 300 written per reply; full method below.

The most useful gap to read is the billing unit: Botpress and Crisp count conversations, Chatbase and Copilot Studio count replies, n8n counts executions, Fin counts outcomes. An agent that asks many follow-up questions costs more on Chatbase or Copilot Studio and the same on Botpress. An agent that resolves well costs more on Fin and the same elsewhere.

The table also compares tools that do different jobs. Crisp and Fin include an inbox for your team, n8n includes neither a support interface nor build time, and Copilot Studio assumes the Microsoft environment. Add build and maintenance time to every line.

To redo the maths

The method, tool by tool

Shared assumption: a conversation has 4 user messages and 4 AI replies, each reply reading about 3,000 tokens and writing 300. We use monthly billing with no commitment and the cheapest plan that covers the need. Dollars are converted at the ECB rate of 28 October 2026 (€1 = $1.1133).
  • Botpress. 1,000 conversations on Plus: 250 included, 8 packs of 100 at $65, so $189 + $520 = $709. 5,000 on Team: 1,500 included, 35 packs at $50, so $939 + $1,750 = $2,689. On annual billing: $670 and $2,500. With the 95% trigger, count $774 and $2,839.
  • Chatbase. 4 credits per conversation on a 1-credit model. 4,000 credits fit in Basic ($150). 20,000 credits: Business (15,000 credits, $500) plus 5,000 credits at $40 per 1,000, so $700.
  • Copilot Studio. 4 generative answers at 2 credits, so 8 credits per conversation. 8,000 credits at $0.01 pay-as-you-go: $80. 40,000 credits: one 25,000-credit pack at $200 plus 15,000 pay-as-you-go, so $350, provided pay-as-you-go is enabled on the environment. Without it, Microsoft Learn says custom agents are disabled above 125% of prepaid capacity. Each agent action adds 5 credits.
  • n8n Cloud. Each message runs an execution, so 4,000 then 20,000 executions: Pro 10,000 at €60, then Pro 50,000 at €144. The Pro selector offers no tier between 10,000 and 50,000. Mistral Large model at the price published on mistral.ai/pricing ($0.5 per million input tokens, $1.5 per million output): $0.0078 per conversation, so €7 then €35.
  • Voiceflow. 4 messages at $0.005 plus gemini-2.5-flash tokens at the credits-table price: $0.0282 per conversation, so $28 then $141. The plan fee is not published, nor is the share of usage covered by included credits.
  • Fin. $0.99 per outcome. We assume 50% of conversations resolved or handed off as configured, and give the ceiling at 100%. Your helpdesk cost is not counted.
  • Crisp. Essentials at €95 with €25 of AI credits, plus Hugo at the top of Crisp’s own range, $0.10 per conversation: $100 then $500 of AI, minus the included credits. The pricing page, read from France, shows prices and credits in euros; Crisp’s help center states credits in dollars. We use Essentials because Mini (€45) includes the AI Agent but neither AI training on your internal data nor the knowledge base, according to the pricing page comparison. With Mini, the calculation gives €130 then €489.

The ECB had not yet published the 29 October 2026 rate at the time of calculation (it publishes around 16:00 CET), so we used the 28 October rate. Change one assumption and the order moves: with 8 replies per conversation, Chatbase and Copilot Studio roughly double ($310 and $160 at 1,000 conversations), Botpress stays the same.

The detail

The 6 Botpress alternatives, one by one

The ranking follows how close each option is to what Botpress does: a platform where you build and run an agent yourself. Voiceflow is the closest, Crisp the most specialised. Price does not set the rank; it is handled in the cost table, as of 29 October 2026.

01 · Agent design platform

Voiceflow

Best for: Product and support teams building voice and chat agents with fine control over the flow

Price read on 29 October 2026: Plan fees not published: the pricing page points to a trial or a demo, and the docs say prices are shown in-app. Usage is published: $0.005 per user message, plus model tokens.

Strengths

  • Voice (phone) and chat agents in one tool, with test and production environments
  • Wide model choice (Anthropic, Google, OpenAI, Groq) with a published per-token price
  • Evaluations and transcripts to track answer quality

Limits

  • The subscription cannot be priced without creating an account or booking a demo
  • A design tool: someone has to build and maintain the flows

02 · Ready-made agent

Chatbase

Best for: Getting an agent live in a day that answers from your website and documents

Price read on 29 October 2026: Hobby $40 a month ($32 annual, 700 credits), Basic $150 ($120, 4,000 credits), Business $500 ($400, 15,000 credits). Extra credits: $40 per 1,000.

Strengths

  • A reply costs 1 credit on most models, according to the Chatbase FAQ
  • Common channels included from Hobby (WhatsApp, Messenger, Instagram, Slack)
  • No technical skill needed to set up

Limits

  • One agent per plan; each extra agent costs $300 a year
  • Removing the "Powered By Chatbase" badge costs $1,188 a year
  • Top-tier models cost 2 to 5 credits per reply

03 · Microsoft agent platform

Microsoft Copilot Studio

Best for: Companies already on Microsoft 365 and Azure that want to publish an agent on their website

Price read on 29 October 2026: Pack of 25,000 credits at $200 a month, or $0.01 per credit pay-as-you-go through Azure. A generative answer costs 2 credits, an agent action 5 credits.

Strengths

  • Among the cheapest in our calculation: €72 at 1,000 conversations a month
  • Power Platform connectors and Microsoft 365 data available
  • Usage by employees holding a Microsoft 365 Copilot licence is not counted, according to Microsoft Learn

Limits

  • An Azure subscription is required to publish an agent
  • Unused credits do not carry over to the next month
  • Without pay-as-you-go enabled, custom agents are disabled above 125% of prepaid capacity

04 · Automation with a built-in agent

n8n (AI Agent node)

Best for: Technical teams that want the agent inside their workflows, at the lowest cost, with a self-hosted option

Price read on 29 October 2026: Cloud Starter €24 a month (2,500 executions), Pro €60 (10,000) or €144 (50,000), billed monthly. Self-hosted Community Edition is free. The model is paid separately.

Strengths

  • Billed per execution, however many steps it has
  • The agent can read and write in hundreds of tools inside the same workflow
  • Self-hosting is possible, so you control where the data lives

Limits

  • Every message sent to the Chat Trigger runs an execution, according to the n8n docs
  • No inbox for your team and no support dashboard: you build or connect them
  • Fair-code licence, and real build time

05 · Outcome-billed support agent

Fin (formerly Intercom)

Best for: High-volume customer support, on the helpdesk you already use

Price read on 29 October 2026: $0.99 per outcome, 50 outcomes a month minimum. With the Intercom helpdesk, Essential plan: $29 per seat per month billed annually ($19 for new customers, according to intercom.com), plus $0.99 per outcome.

Strengths

  • You only pay for conversations resolved, or handed off the way you configured
  • Works with Salesforce, HubSpot, Zendesk and other helpdesks
  • Acquired by Salesforce on 10 September 2026, which says Fin will continue to serve its customers

Limits

  • Cost rises with quality: the more Fin resolves, the bigger the bill
  • At a high resolution rate, the most expensive option in the table
  • Roadmap now tied to Salesforce

06 · Customer messaging with an AI agent

Crisp (Hugo)

Best for: Small and mid-sized companies that want live chat, a shared inbox and an AI agent in one tool, from a French vendor

Price read on 29 October 2026: Mini €45, Essentials €95, Plus €295 a month per workspace, with €5, €25 or €75 of AI credits (amounts in euros on the pricing page read from France). Hugo costs about $0.05 to $0.10 per conversation, Crisp’s own estimate.

Strengths

  • Flat price per workspace, with no conversation limit
  • Company based in Nantes, data stored in the EU according to its help center
  • Chat, email and knowledge base in the same subscription, from Essentials

Limits

  • Hugo’s cost per conversation is only given as a range, with no per-model price
  • Training the agent on your internal data requires at least Essentials
  • Less design freedom than a builder such as Botpress or Voiceflow

Outside the ranking · Agency

Having the agent built for you: Lumyniq, custom AI agent

Lumyniq publishes this comparison and sells this service, so it is not ranked.

Best for: Companies that want an agent built, connected to their tools and maintained for them, without learning a platform

Price: Quoted per project. Our service page states that a first bounded agent typically starts between €5,000 and €15,000 in setup, plus model API costs and a maintenance plan.

Strengths

  • The agent is written for your process: your rules, your tools (CRM, calendar, line-of-business software), your guardrails
  • Model and hosting chosen to fit your GDPR constraints, including components hosted in Europe
  • No per-conversation bill: you pay for setup, a maintenance plan, then the model at API cost

Limits

  • Agency: no self-serve interface where you edit the agent alone
  • Setup takes 2 to 4 weeks for a scoped use case, according to our service page
  • A project budget comes before the first message, which does not suit a $50 trial

A French option outside the ranking: Dydu. Dydu has built chatbots, voicebots and callbots since 2009 and states that its data is hosted in France. Its prices are not published (demo on request), so we could not price it. Worth a look if hosting in France is a contractual requirement.

For n8n, the licence question and the alternatives to n8n itself are covered in our guide to n8n alternatives by licence. If the agent mainly needs to trigger automations between your tools, our comparison of Zapier alternatives covers the other half of the subject. To build an agent yourself on one of these tools, see our guide to building an AI agent without code.

Decision

Which Botpress alternative fits your case

The right replacement depends on who builds the agent and what you pay for. Without a technical team, Chatbase or Crisp. On Microsoft, Copilot Studio. With a technical team, n8n or Voiceflow. For high-volume support already on a helpdesk, Fin. For an agent designed and maintained for you, a custom provider.
Your situationOptionWhy
Small site, a few hundred conversations, nobody technicalChatbaseLive quickly, $40 to $150 a month
SME that wants a full customer messaging toolCrispFlat price per workspace, EU data according to Crisp
Company already on Microsoft 365 and AzureCopilot Studio€72 at 1,000 conversations, Microsoft connectors
Technical team, agent acting across several toolsn8nCheap executions, self-hosting possible
Voice and chat agents finely designed by a product teamVoiceflowFlow control, phone included
High-volume support on Zendesk, Salesforce or HubSpotFinBilled per outcome, plugs into the existing helpdesk
Agent connected to CRM and business software, no in-house teamCustom agent (Lumyniq, outside the ranking)Built and maintained for you, setup and maintenance billed
You stay on Botpress, above 1,350 conversations a monthBotpress TeamCheaper than Plus above 1,350 conversations
Lumyniq decision grid, October 2026.

To place the agent in a wider project (definition, use cases, cost of a conversation), see our guide to AI agents for business.

If what you want is a self-serve tool where you paste your website address and get an agent: Lumyniq is preparing Agent Studio, waitlist open. It is not available yet, so it is not part of this comparison (the name is close to a Botpress module, with no connection to it).

The limits

What this comparison does not settle

This comparison prices rate cards. It does not measure answer quality, we did not test any of these tools in production for this page, and prices change: Botpress switched model in May 2026, Fin changed owner in September. Redo the calculation with your own volumes before you sign.

Quality. A cheaper agent that hands twice as many conversations to a human can cost more in total. Test two tools on your fifty most frequent questions before choosing.

Assumptions. Four replies per conversation and 3,000 tokens read per reply are orders of magnitude. An agent that reads many documents or chains actions consumes far more on tools billed per reply or per token.

Data. Price says nothing about hosting. Crisp states that it stores data in the EU. Botpress stores conversations in the United States or other locations set by the customer, according to its privacy statement of 17 August 2026. We could not verify Voiceflow’s region outside its Enterprise plan. For personal data, ask for the data processing agreement and the list of subprocessors.

Migration. None of these tools imports a Botpress bot. Plan for re-importing the knowledge base and rebuilding flows and integrations, to be costed by the number of flows and integrations.

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Botpress and its alternatives

According to botpress.com/pricing on 29 October 2026: Free at $0 (100 conversations, no overage, period not stated), Plus at $189 a month or $150 billed annually (250 conversations a month), Team at $939 or $750 billed annually (1,500 conversations a month), Enterprise on quote. Beyond the quota, Botpress adds packs of 100 conversations at $65 on Plus and $50 on Team.

Related guides

Read next

Sources

Links verified at publication. Regulatory texts change — always defer to the official source.

Let's talk about your project

A question, a project, an idea? We respond within 24h. Free audit, no commitment.

Contact details